Italian furniture Museum, Valle d’aosta
- Country: Italy
- City: Valle d’aosta
- Address: Frazione Chez Sapin 97
Many people today love to visit the museums of Italy and this is understandable, because they have a lot of interesting things. In the beautiful province of Valle d’aosta, which is located in the North of Italy, there is the castle of Fenis, which is well preserved from the middle ages and became one of the outstanding museums of modern Italy. The castle of Fenis, in fact, today the furniture Museum, located in the South-West of the province, at the foot of the Saint-Julien. It is surrounded on all sides by beautiful surroundings.
This castle is of great interest to many tourists since way back in 1936 after a special restoration here opened a truly unique Italian furniture Museum and a variety of interiors. This Museum is a great example of classic medieval architecture. It must be said that for all time of existence he never besieged by enemies – that is why it has retained its rather formidable appearance to the present day.
The first reliable mention of the castle are found in manuscripts of the 13th century, he was then in the possession of the family of Viscount D’aosta. The owners at different times were members of the family Challans. Significant upgrade this castle was made in the 14th century, but, alas, later on, the castle gradually began to lose its former splendor. Even the change of owner in 1716 did not bring any positive changes – the castle continued to deteriorate. In this state, the castle has stood for nearly two hundred years, until in 1895 the new owner, Joseph Ross (Italian Consul) not resold to the state. From this moment for the castle it was the era of the Museum’s existence. After many reconstructions and special restorations in the castle opened a Museum of furniture.
It is important to know that the form of the General panorama of the plan of the castle is a Pentagon, the corners of which are special round towers, but with the exception of a few square (South-Eastern and South towers). The main tower of the castle, protect the special double wall with special guard towers connected by a parapet in a circle. The entrance to this castle was made previously through distinct square tower, which was supplied to hazards special dipping bars.
On the ground floor visitors can see the main hall, kitchen, dining room, pantry, room for special classes and a special room of the publican (tax-collecting). The entire second floor of this castle are presented for various excursions – a small reception room and a home chapel as well as the particular personal room of the former owners of this castle, which has a name – Room viscounts.
The entire courtyard has a semicircular staircase and a special wooden decks. There are noteworthy frescoes, which are located on the walls of the castle. Many researchers attribute them to the early 15th century.
Scenes that are depicted in these frescoes, dedicated to the famous feat of St. George who killed the dragon and also represent the various sages and prophets special with manuscripts in hand, on which is written the aphorisms and spiritual guidance into old French language.